Friday, February 5, 2010

Thin Ice and East Coast Flair

Yesterday my mother insisted I spend the night at Calvin's apartment in West St. Paul because I would be closer to school the next morning and therefore avoid extra time in poor driving conditions. While I failed to see the logic behind this, I didn't dare judge the blessing and took the opportunity to eat pizza, watch television and smoke hookah with one of my best buds. This is what I looked like for most of the evening as I sat and watched Current TV while Calvin did his classwork in the other room:


We smoked Tangerine Dream flavored shisha. It hit far harder than either of us were expecting or wanted it to. When I stood up from the chair it seemed like gravity was going to face plant me into the ground, so I passed out onto the conveniently located couch right next to the chair. Clearly I made some bad decisions. Poppa John's Pizza, bee tee dubs is actually pretty good if you order it with extra cheese and sauce. I overate, but Calvin assures me that that's not gross, it's manliness. Ha. For sleeping, I slept on a movable bed/mattress in the middle of the living room. Calvin's dog Andre kept digging himself under the covers and pushing my arm out of the way to make room for him to cuddle with me. Had he not been so cute, I would not have yielded. Likewise, his kitty planted herself at the foot of the bed from time to time. Even though my mother's logic utterly failed, as I had to run home this morning to grab the tie I forgot to bring over to Calvin's apartment, I still had a great time and slept well. Not to mention that there was coffee in the morning. And I like coffee. Thanks Calvin!

And now for something completely unrelated, this afternoon my friend Tom responded to a comment I made about my Economics video project with an insulting array of comments, such as how it went beyond mediocrity to utter shit, and how poor my score would be. Tom, fuck off. I understand that you prefer to be blunt and honest at all times, but there is a big difference between bluntness and insensitivity and/or flat-out rudeness. This isn't the first time your commentary has fallen under the latter category. Unprompted criticism is rude by itself, but if you're not even going to provide even the slightest bit of constructive advice, you might as well shut your mouth. Furthermore, your tactless criticisms call into question why Emily and I even bother responding to any of your business with sensitivity. There are plenty of times I wanted to tell you straight that you were an idiot for stubbornly pursuing Susha when it was evident things wouldn't work out. I never once did, however, because I thought of your feelings first. Sure, I don't care too much about my video. But to have somebody deliver an unprompted full-out criticism of an unfinished product (based solely on a script) within the weekend of its due date is tasteless. In the future, I'd prefer if you were to shove it unless you have something constructive to say.

What a day.

No comments:

Post a Comment