Wednesday, April 8, 2009

So much for that.

I haven't even gotten through all ten of the previously mentioned records. Not surprising. It's been awhile since I've listened to the ones I did listen to, so no in-depth reviews, but:

Julien-k: B-. Accomplishes what it aims to and I can see myself casually listening to them. Much better than their live act.

3OH!3: F. Lil' Wayne's crunk boy rapping just WASN'T enough for these Colorado kids. Add shit fruity loops beats and we've got quite possibly the worst record I've ever sat through. Avoid at all costs. This shit made me CRY. Oh, and the Beekeeper is a masterpiece. I lied.

The Boomtown Rats: A-. Oh my God. Love love love. I Don't Like Mondays is flawless. Tori's cover is just another side of the same coin, but oh my God.

Patrick Wolf: B+. While fairly uninteresting for the majority of the record, Wolf manages to really shoot high several times.

Depeche Mode: B+. I'm not really sure why it took me so long to get around to these guys.

Burn Witch Burn: C+. I'm surprised that this cute, folky music came out of the force that gave us Instant Club Hit (You'll Dance To Anything) and Bitchin' Camaro. Novelty, but not a bad listen.

The Velvet Underground: C-. Just because you're talented doesn't mean you're not boring as all get out. Yawn.

Reviews of the Strangers, MC Lyte, and Joe Jackson to come eventually.


In recent news, I received a shoutout in Mindless Self Indulgence's Japanese release of their 2008 record "IF." That shit is now available through the Omega Order for $24 (worldwide - not just Japan) and includes plenty of lovely extras to make up for the double price.

Tori Amos's visualette for the first single off of Abnormally Attracted To Sin, "Welcome To England," debuted this past Friday. The video features our favourite Cornmother-obsessed "Goddess" walking through England in glam. Go figure. It's now available on iTunes for $1.49 and for free via streaming on Yahoo! Music, so check it out. Isabel from American Doll Posse makes an appearance and the video is silly enough that I couldn't care less if it's contentless outfit-boasting masturbation. Oh Tori.

No comments:

Post a Comment